Delhi Capitals thump KKR

The Delhi Capitals put in a commanding performance to thump the Kolkata Knight Riders by 44 runs in an Indian Premier League clash at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday.

Prithvi Shaw (51) and David Warner (61) laid the foundation for Delhi’s 215 for five after being asked to bat first by Shreyas Iyer. In reply, Kuldeep Yadav (4-0-35-4) and Khaleel Ahmed (4-0-25-3) ensured that KKR would get nowhere near, bowling Kolkata out for 171 with two balls remaining in the innings.

Shaw and Warner’s opening stand of 93 from 53 balls was the perfect start Delhi required with Shaw striking seven boundaries and two sixes from 29 balls while Warner’s 45-ball knock included six boundaries and two maximums.

Umesh Yadav (4-0-48-1) and Pat Cummins (4-0-51-0) were unable to contain the pair and it was the introduction of spin that brought KKR back into the match somewhat as Varun Chakravarthy (4-0-44-1) broke the opening stand, clean-bowling Shaw.

However, Rishabh Pant (27) clubbed two fours and two sixes from 14 balls to continue the momentum built before Sunil Narine (4-0-21-2) dismissed Lalit Yadav (1) and Rovman Powell (8). Axar Patel and Shardul Thakur then upped the ante at the back-end of the innings with an unbeaten 49 for the sixth wicket from only 20 balls to send the Delhi total past the 200-run mark.

Thakur struck one four and three sixes from only 11 balls to end unbeaten on 29 while Patel struck two fours and a six from 14 balls for his 22 not out.

In reply, the Knight Riders lost Ajinkya Rahane (7) early, caught off Khaleel’s bowling, who then had Venkatesh Iyer caught for 18. Shreyas and Nitish Rana (30) then rebuilt the chase with a third-wicket stand of 69 from 44 balls before Rana was caught on the boundary by Shaw from the bowling of Lalit (1-0-8-1).

The big wicket of Shreyas came when he danced down the wicket to Kuldeep and was stumped by Pant for a well-played 54 from 33 deliveries which included five boundaries and two sixes.

Khaleel and Kuldeep then removed Sam Billings (15), Cummins (4) and Narine (4) before Kuldeep pulled off a brilliant caught and bowled effort of Umesh (0), running back, diving and taking a brilliant catch.

Shardul Thakur (2.4-0-29-2) then finished off the KKR innings, having Andre Russell caught on the fence by Sarfaraz Khan for 24 before dismissing Rasikh Salam for seven.

Author: Brendon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *